Showing Anxiety

I tapped my foot nervously as I waited for the smooth sonata to end. I kept on doing and undoing the bow at the waistline of my silky satin dress that I had on. “How long is their piece?”, I wondered to myself.
I turned and glanced over to my parents. My father looked completely immersed into the beautiful sonata, but my mother glanced at me and gave me a thumbs-up. That made me feel even worse. My heart clenched with fear. Enough with embarrassing myself, what if I embarrass my family?
“Shampurna, you are up!”, my piano teacher called to me. My head was pounding and I felt faint. I numbly walked over to the piano, sitting down slowly, placing my feet on the pedal. My long, slender fingers rested on the piano.
I took a deep breath and I played my piece.

7 thoughts on “Showing Anxiety

  1. I thought you were talking about our first orchestra concert! Then you added that part about the dress and I thought that it wasn’t an orchestra concert because we didn’t use our dresses in the first one! I loved the post, and I could see everything clearly, which is amazing, ’cause I have issues with imagining things like this.

  2. I think it’s cool how you play piano! And I liked the way you put your story together. We have a piano in my house, it was my moms dream for my brother and I to learn to play. But we never really got around to it.

    • Awww… I play a lot of different instruments, I sing, play guitar, play cello, and the piano. Piano is my favorite! You would totally love playing it!

  3. I can really feel your anxiety! I have District tryouts on the ninth and something tells me it’ll be like that too

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *